Proceedings of the General Body Meeting of Indian Society of Weed Science held at Kerala Agricultural University, Thrissur on 19th April 2012.

General Body Meeting of the Indian Society of Weed Science (ISWS) was held on 19th April 2012 at 5.00 pm in the Auditorium Hall of Kerala Agricultural University, Kerala. Due to shortage of quorum, the meeting was adjourned for 30 minutes and again convened at 5.30 PM. In this meeting, 125 bonafied members of the ISWS were present (list attached). In the General Body, following members of the Interim Executive Committee were present:

President :	Dr. T.V. Muniyappa, Bangalore, (Karnataka)
Vice President :	Dr. U.S. Walia, Ludhiana (Punjab)
Vice-President :	Dr. C.T. Abraham, KAU, Thrissur, (Kerala)
Secretary :	Dr. Sushilkumar, DWSR, Jabalpur (Madhya Pradesh)
Joint Secretary :	Dr. M.L. Kewat, JNKVV, Jabalpur (Madhya Pradesh)
Joint Secretary :	Dr. Kalyana Murthy, GKVK, Bangalore, (Karnataka)
Treasurer :	Dr. V.P. Singh, DWSR, Jabalpur (Madhya Pradesh)

At the outset, Dr. T.V. Muniyappa, President of ISWS, expressed his gratitude to all the members for their confidence and support to choose him as Interim President at this important time when the Society needs stability and cohesiveness and requires working together. Dr. Muniyappa urged the members to work with full zeal and enthusiasm without favour and fervor for the progress of the Society. He hoped that after unification of the two factions, the Society will rise to newer heights. He appealed to the members to forget the past and look forward for the further upliftment of the Society.

Dr. Sushilkumar, Secretary, ISWS apprised the house about activities carried out by the EC during 2011-2012. He informed that the membership of ISWS is increasing every year which may be considered as an indicator that scientists and research workers from different state universities, conventional universities and ICAR institutes are taking more interest in the weed management research. He informed that issue of Indian Journal of Weed Science (2011, 1&2)

has been published under the Chief Editorship of Dr. Samunder Singh, who has also brought with him some copies for distribution among the members.

Dr. R.K. Pannu, Treasure of ISWS at CCSHAU, Hisar presented the receipt and expenditure statement of the Society at Hisar.

Dr. V.P. Singh, Treasurer of ISWS at DWSR, Jabalpur read out the receipt and expenditure statement during the last two years at Jabalpur. The audited statements of accounts at Jabalpur and Hisar were also distributed among the members for their perusal and comments. After discussion, it was unanimously approved by the GB.

After a thorough discussion on various emerging issues related to the functioning of Society, the following resolutions were passed unanimously:

- 1. All the differences and outstanding issues between the two factions of the Society based at Hisar and Jabalpur were fully resolved to the satisfaction of all the concerned.
- Both the factions agreed to have one unified Society named as "Indian Society of Weed Science", which was registered with the Registrar of the Society, Bangalore on 17/12/2008 with Registration No SOR/BLU/DR/518/08-09.
- 3. The Society registered on 1st July 1980 should be treated as dissolved for want of submission of audited accounts and renewal. It was also resolved to transfer all the funds of the dissolved Society to the newly registered "Indian Society of Weed Science".
- 4. It was resolved to modify the structure of Executive Committee as given in the byelaw of present Society namely "Indian Society of Weed Science".
- 5. It was resolved that all life members will enjoy the privileges of the membership life time instead of 15 years period only.
- 6. It was unanimously resolved to dissolve the post of Zonal Secretaries from the existing byelaws of the Society. Therefore, the clause-XV will be omitted from the byelaws. The EC will now consist of following members: President (one), Vice President (two, one elected and one co-opted), Secretary (one from HQ that is DWSR, Jabalpur), Joint Secretary (two, one elected and one co-opted) and Treasurer (one from HQ that is DWSR, Jabalpur). Chief Editor appointed by the EC, who will also be a member of EC.

A minimum of 50% of the members of the EC shall form a quorum instead of 20% as described in earlier byelaws. Likewise, a minimum of 10% of the total membership will form the quorum for General Body meetings. In case quorum is not fulfilled, meeting can be adjourned for half an hour and than it may resume its functions. All such amendments and alternations in the rules will be communicated to the Registrar of the Societies with a fresh draft of the byelaws as resolved by the General Body meeting.

- 7. It was resolved to transfer all the funds of the Society lying in different accounts to be deposited in one account in a nationalized Bank at Jabalpur.
- 8. It was resolved to publish and distribute official journal of the Society namely "Indian Journal of Weed Science" from Head Quarter, that is DWSR, Jabalpur.
- 9. It was resolved to have one website of the Society to be maintained at the HQ instead of two websites being maintained at Hisar and Jabalpur.
- 10. Members showed their concern to initiate election process. It was unanimously resolved that process of election should be initiated timely so that new EC can take charge of the Society with effect from January 2013.
- 11. Dr. Devraj Arya, Monsanto India Ltd, Mumbai was unanimously elected as a Returning Officer to conduct the election, for which, he kindly agreed. It was decided that a combined list of members enrolled at Hisar and Jabalpur will be prepared and sent to Dr. Devraj Arya for initiating election process. It was also decided that voting right will be given to all those annual members who have completed continuous membership as on 31st December, 2011.
- 12. It was resolved to follow the guidelines and decisions taken in the EC meetings held at Bangalore on 28th July, 2011and New Delhi on 15th November, 2011, respectively for publication, distribution and style of the Journal.

All members expressed happiness at the outcome of the meeting. A formal vote of thanks was proposed by the Secretary, ISWS.

Sweillame,

(Sushilkumar) Secretary, ISWS