Proceedings of the Meeting of EC held on 28th April, 2017 at Jabalpur

A meeting of EC members of ISWS was held at NASC guest house, New Delhi on 28th April, 2017. The following EC members were present:

- 1. Dr. V.P. Singh, President
- 2. Dr. Sushilkumar, Secretary
- 3. Dr. Bhumsh Kumar, Treasurer
- 4. Dr. S.S. Punia, Vice President
- 5. Dr. M. Madhavi, Joint Secretary

At the outset, Dr. Sushilkumar, Secretary, ISWS welcomed the President, Dr. V.P. Singh and other members of EC. Dr. V.P. Singh, President congratulated all the EC members for being elected through the ballot paper. He hoped that this new EC will work with all enthusiasm and with the cooperation of all the members of the society. After the opening remarks by the President and Secretary, point-wise discussion was held on the agenda items placed before the EC.

- 1. Co-opting of Vice President and Joint Secretary: After detailed discussion and considering the overall merit of the members and providing representation to all parts of the country, it was decided to nominate Dr. C. Chinnusamy, Professor, TNAU, Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, for the post of Vice President (Co-opt) and Dr. J.P. Deshmukh, Professor, PDKV, Akola, Maharashtra for the post of Joint Secretary (Co-opt).
- 2. **Selection of Chief Editor**: Initially several names were discussed for the post of Chief Editor of Indian Journal of Weed Science. After detailed discussion, the name of Dr. J.S. Mishra emerged. Dr. Mishra is currently Head, Division of Crop Research, ICAR-Research Complex for Eastern Region, Patna, Bihar. Dr. Mishra was contacted over mobile for taking his consent, for which he readily agreed. Dr. Mishra was requested to find out the suitable names for the Associate Editors and subject experts to make his team. It was decided that the names of members in Editorial Board will be disused in the next EC meeting with the consultation of chief Editor.
- 3. **Election of Councilors**: It was opined that each states should represent one councilors. A preliminary list of the councilors was made. It was decided that final list of the councilors will be decided in the next EC meeting with the joining of Co-opt Vice President, Joint Secretary and the Chief Editor.
- 4. **Organizing of ISWS Golden Jubilee Conference on completion of 50 years**: Dr. Sushilkumar, Secretary, informed that ISWS is completing its 50 years journey in 2018 and proposed to hold a ISWS Golden Jubilee Conference at this occasion to commemorate 50 years of journey. Dr. V.P. Singh, President opined that we should discuss this agenda in next EC meeting after joining other EC members.

The meeting was concluded with vote of thanks to chair.

Sushilkumar Secretary, ISWS

Swallman